Australian Literary Studies PhD Essay Prize


This $700 cash prize is open to current PhD students and PhD graduates who have completed since August 2019. The prize includes mentoring to publication and a complimentary subscription to our journal.

Scholars from diverse background are warmly encouraged to apply.

We particularly seek essays that respond to the journal's areas of interest, including:

  • First Nations and trans-Indigenous literary studies
  • The uses and value of literary works and literary criticism
  • Literary reception and book history
  • The future of Literary Studies as a discipline
  • Intersectional approaches to gender and literature

Essays should be between 5,000-10,000 words in length. Please follow our submission guidelines.


To apply, email your essay to by 30th August 2021.

PhD Essay Prize Flyer